Saint of the Year: 2016

Hello dear friends,

I hope that you enjoyed Christmas and the New Year. I sure have. I don’t think I have ever slept so much. For the past few years, I have used the Saint Name Generator to choose a Saint to pray with for the year. I have found it to be pretty cool.

thumb_IMG_2889_1024

Bl. Anna Maria Taigi

In 2014 I received St. Catherine of Bologna. She was the patron of artists, the arts, liberal arts, and against temptations. Looking back, this was a time when I was really struggling with what I was going to do with my liberal arts degree. I was an english major who really hadn’t thought out the next step. By the end of 2014, I was in contact with America Magazine and was working on an article to be published by them.

In 2015, I received St. Leonard de Port Maurice. St. Leonard was a Franciscan priest in Italy. He is the patron of Parish Missions and was known for his retreats and his writing. I was very confused by this. I had felt a call to move away from Parish work. Little did I know, that I would be working at a Franciscan Retreat Center that serves the Parishes of the Province.

For 2016, I received Bl. Anna Maria Taigi. She is most well known for being a wife, mother, and a mystic. I ordered a book about her from Amazon yesterday, I’m excited to read a little bit more about this Saint!

thumb_IMG_2888_1024

Leave a Reply

