DIY Mugs

thumb_IMG_2497_1024 thumb_IMG_2498_1024 thumb_IMG_2499_1024

When I first decided to look into long-term service programs, I knew that I would want little projects to work on for my relationship with Chris. One of the things that I found through my beloved pinterest was DIY sharpie mugs. So, I went to the dollar store and bought two identical mugs. My dollar store only had green, but I like green so I went for it. I used this tutorial from pinterest, and I found it very helpful.

This particular tutorial called for outlining the design in eyeliner and then going over it in oil-based sharpies. Now, I didn’t have oil based sharpies at the time and I have a pretty steady hand. So I decided to forego the outlining procedure. I did the whole design free-hand with regular sharpies. Then I let the mugs dry out for 24 hours. The next day, I put the mugs in our oven, and then set the oven to 450 degrees fahrenheit. I put the mugs in while the oven was cold, let the oven be on for an hour, and then turned the oven off at one hour. I didn’t take the mugs out right away, instead I let them cool in the oven, so that there were no drastic temperature changes.

I decided to do the process again since parts of my design faded. So I went over the parts that I wanted to be darker, and re-baked the mugs in the same fashion. All in all, I was pleased with how they turned out. : )

I decided to use a quote from Mumford & Sons, because I thought that it fit with my and Chris’s semi-distanced relationship.

Your eyes they tie me down so hard
I’ll never learn to put up a guard
So keep my love, my candle bright
Learn me hard, oh learn me right

This ain’t no sham
I am what I am

Though I may speak some tongue of old
Or even spit out some holy word
I have no strength from which to speak
When you sit me down, and see I’m weak

We will run and scream
You will dance with me
They’ll fulfill our dreams and we’ll be free

And we will be who we are
And they’ll heal our scars
Sadness will be far away

So as we walked through fields of green
Was the fairest sun I’d ever seen
And I was broke, I was on my knees
And you said yes as I said please

This ain’t no sham
I am what I am
I leave no time
For a cynic’s mind

We will run and scream
You will dance with me
Fulfill our dreams and we’ll be free

We will be who we are
And they’ll heal our scars
Sadness will be far away

Do not let my fickle flesh go to waste
As it keeps my heart and soul in its place
And I will love with urgency but not with haste

Leave a Reply

