Fall in Love, Stay in Love

Fall in Love, Stay in Love, and it will decide everything.

This quote, taken from a poem (prayer?) by Pedro Arrupe, was given out to each graduate from Catholic Life at Hofstra. I think it sums up perfectly what it means to be a Catholic today. It can be so hard to live this type of life in this type of world. And yet, I find myself giving up a year of my life to serve Him. I find myself living for Him in the Eucharist, and I find myself wanting others to know him too. I want others to fall in love with Him more and more each day. That’s where this poem comes into play. It’s so true, that if you fall in love with him, if you truly fall in love with him, it will decide everything in your life.

Nothing is more practical than
finding God, than
falling in Love
in a quite absolute, final way.

What you are in love with,
what seizes your imagination,
will affect everything.

It will decide
what will get you out of bed in the morning,
what you do with your evenings,
how you spend your weekends,
what you read,
whom you know,
what breaks your heart,
and what amazes you with joy and gratitude.

Fall in Love,
stay in love,
and it will decide everything.

Yesterday, I got home from work to find a hefty piece of mail in the mailbox. It was addressed to me, and it contained two books to prepare me for my upcoming year of ministry. The first is Engaging a New Generation and the second is Forming Intentional DisciplesAnd so, I went through my bookshelf, took the two books I had planned on reading this summer, and lined the four books on top of one another. And then, like any other millennial, I took a picture and posted it on Instagram. Using an app to size the picture, I found this lovely background of pink roses. Thank you St. Therese, patron of Missionaries. 
IMG_2626


Luckily, I had a catch up date with my good friend Brittany. She has a few priest friends, so adoration was included. I’ve been thinking and praying about the true presence a lot lately. Come August, I’ll have a chapel in my house *cue happy jump and squeal*

Definitely feeling grateful for the Eucharist.

IMG_2627

I know that my campus minister and chaplain knew how fitting that prayer was when they decided to give it out at Baccalaureate Mass, but I didn’t. And it’s only as I continue to look at it, hanging in my room, that I see just how lovely and beautiful it is.

Leave a Reply

