Five Things I Love

As I scroll through my newsfeed, or listen to the radio, I can’t help but love some of the things I come across. I’ve never done a post like this, but there’s a first time for everything! So here is a round up of some little things from all across the internet that have peaked my interest in the past couple of days…


1. Instagram is probably my biggest time waster. Perhaps I should work on that, but sometimes (a lot of the time actually) I find some pretty cool things. Today, Imagine Sisters posted this fundraiser. This young lady, Theresa, needs to raise money to pay off her student loans so that she can enter the Franciscan Sisters, TOR, of Penance of the Sorrowful Mother. I love causes like this one. If you love it to, you can donate to Theresa Here.

IMG_2213 (1)

2. Sometimes I like to peruse this website, the Capuchin Franciscans. Well, because I’m doing a year of Ministry with them starting in August. Here you can learn more about the Ministry, the Capuchin’s, and the current Cap Corp Volunteers. By the way, could you keep the current CCV’s in prayer as they wrap up their year of ministry? Also, the volunteers who are coming in August, I’m sure we need it 🙂

FullSizeRender (1)

3. Driving into work can be a drag sometimes. But, WNYC has some really great stories in the morning between 8 and 9am. Yesterday, they shared an exhibit that is currently being shown at the Met. It’s called “P.S. Art 2015 Celebrating the Creative Spirit of New York City Kids.” Basically, it’s an exhibition filled with the art work of kids from the New York City Public Schools. It’s on exhibit currently and will be taken out on October 18, 2015. You can learn more about it here.

FullSizeRender (2)

4. The Catholic world is filled with stories and conversation about Pope Francis’ encyclical ‘Laudato Si’ that was released yesterday. I started reading it on the Vatican website, you can do that too here. I’m only up to chapter two, but my favorite quote so far is from Chapter One, Section 58:

It is having been created to love, in the midst of his limits inevitably sprout gestures of generosity, solidarity and care.

I also read a few articles from various news sources, but I think this one is my favorite. It sums up the importance of this encyclical for young Catholics.  You can read this article at America Mag.

FullSizeRender (3)

5. Sometimes I don’t want to listen to Spotify anymore. Sometimes I don’t want to go through the effort of picking out songs for a playlist, etc etc. Yes, I’m whining, but WFUV is my saving grace when it comes to my laziness. It’s great because I can stream it online while at work, or listen to it traditionally in the car. If you like indie, rock, folk, or really anything, you can find it on this station. They have special programs on the weekends, where they play Irish Music, among other things. It’s great, and if you love Music, you’ll love WFUV.

FullSizeRender (4)

Well, thank you for letting me rant a little bit! Hope some of this brightens your day, like it did mine. Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

