The Hudson Valley

Also posted on Dignitatem

Some of you know that I had an overnight visit and interview with Capuchin Youth and Family Ministries last week. This ministry is located in the beautiful Hudson Valley of New York.

25hudson-600
Source

Although, I didn’t get the chance to take any pictures of my own, I’ll have plenty of time to do that in the upcoming year. Before I left, I asked a good friend about what was appropriate to wear to this interview. Because, to be honest, I had no idea. So I took her advice and kept it casual for the visit, and went business casual for the interview. Before I left the house, I took a good long look at a gift from my boyfriends Mom that she gave me for graduation. It has that famous verse from Jeremiah on it:

ย For I know the plans I have for you,โ€ declares the Lord, โ€œplans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

I began my trip with Mass at my home parish. I packed an overnight bag, a towel, sleeping bag, and pillow. This is mainly because I forgot to ask about the sleeping arrangements before I left.

IMG_2070

IMG_2072

IMG_2071

I started my trip in Garrison, where the retreat house and offices are located. There I was given a tour, and introduced to the office staff at CYFM. The grounds were beautiful. They are right on the Hudson, but you can’t see the Hudson because of bamboo. I can’t wait to work here.

IMG_2078

After the initial tour, one of the current CCVs (Cap Corp Volunteers) took me to their place of residence. Before we actually went to the Red House, we stopped in Beacon, the little town that they live in. We parked, and walked over to a coffee house, which I am so excited to visit again. There was also a community garden in the town! Hollis (the CCV) told me that the garden is used by local restaurants. And then I fell in love.

IMG_2076-1 IMG_2077-1

The rest of Tuesday was spent at the Red House, where the current CCVs made me feel at home. They also have access to an itty bitty Chapel, which is in their house.

IMG_2079 IMG_2081 IMG_2084

Wednesday began with Mass and breakfast. Then we went back to CYFM and I had my final interview. The CCVs, Fathers Marvin and Fred, and the rest of the CYFM staff saw me off and told me to get back to them with my decision. I celebrated with a caramel mocha latte from McDonalds.

IMG_2082 IMG_2083

Many of you know how difficult this past year was for me in terms of figuring out what my next step would be. It’s funny how in hindsight one can see how God was leading them all along. I can’t wait to see how God is going to use me in the next year, and where he’ll lead me next. Please keep me in prayer!

Love and prayers,
Mary

One thought on “The Hudson Valley

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | A Lovely Little Flower

Leave a Reply

