The East End

So, for the past year or so, I have had this affinity for the East End of Long Island. So much so, that most of my friends are aware that I will drive out there at the drop of a hat. 
IMG_1777
One of my friends took me up on that. I received a text on friday afternoon asking to go out to the North Fork on Saturday. Of course I said yes. She is finally home for good from school. On top of that, she just found out that she’s going to Columbia next year… So we celebrated, and she had delicious sangria. Congratulations, Sandi!

IMG_1778We arrived in Greenport at about 1:30 in the afternoon. So our first stop was my favorite Mexican restaurant. It’s called Lucharitos and it is the best little restaurant in Greenport. We actually went on a good day, because they will be closed for the month of March. Now, this isn’t because of a lack of business during the off season, its because they’re expanding the restaurant! Sandi is the fourth person that I have brought to this little joint on the edge of LI. Well, apparently it lived up to the hype! I’m glad that she loved it as much as I do.

Our next stop was Burton’s Bookstore. A friend bought this store at the beginning of this year, and is slowly renovating it. I bought an awesomely, beautiful childrens book called, “Adventures through the North Fork- Autumn.” Scott (the owner) was telling me that the author of this little book lives in Greenport and has some pretty cool prints as well as other books.

IMG_2543Here is an image of the book from Danielle Malmet Rodger’s website. I’m really excited to look into some of her other work!
After perusing the book store, we went next door to The White Weathered Barn. We walked around this eclectic shop and looked at all of the locally made products. I love going in here. I bought myself a small print of Long Island, which I hope to frame for my desk at home. Long Island is special to me, and now I’ll always have a reminder of where I come from. 
IMG_1779We ended the day at the Tanger Outlets in Riverhead. We spent money on things that we needed and things that we wanted… It was well worth it. Sandi and I decided that we are going to be visiting the new Toms store in NYC soon. And when it gets warmer we hope to visit the winery’s (they’re not that far from Greenport!)

If you’re interested in reading more about the East End, I’ve blogged about it here, here, here, and here.

One thought on “The East End

  1. Pingback: The Most Long Island Day Ever (Part Two) |

Leave a Reply

