My Week in Cancun

MEXICO

So, this past week I was able to spend my time in Cancun, Mexico! It was great! The warm weather was such a nice break from the bitter cold here in New York. As many of you know already, my family traveled to Cancun for my sister’s wedding. Because of the wedding, much of our time in Mexico was pre-planned. So Wednesday afternoon through Thursday night was occupied by wedding bliss. However, Tuesday and Friday were completely open to fun. BUT Sunday night our flights were cancelled. So, in a mad dash, we had to rebook everything. Instead of arriving in Cancun Monday afternoon, we arrived Monday night. Our new flight went out of a different airport and had a 2.5 hour layover in Mexico City. It was an adventureΒ using what little spanish I remember from high school to get us to the right terminal (with twenty minutes to spare). THEN after all of that, I threw up on our second flight. That was not pleasant.

Since we arrived at the hotel so late on Monday, we were unable to book an excursion for Tuesday. Twas sad, but that’s not the end of the story…

IMG_1701

IMG_2108

Tuesday was spent on the beach, by the pool, the ocean, and in the daybed. The all inclusive resort thing is pretty cool. This made me love Cancun. My ideal heaven would be Tuesday in Cancun. We were able to book a half day excursion to Tulum, Mexico for Wednesday morning. This was great, because I really wanted to see Tulum.

IMG_1712

It was really interesting to learn about the Mayans and their culture. It was also really cool to see these ancient ruins. They overlooked the ocean, which was a nice touch. Absolutely beautiful.

IMG_1714

Wednesday afternoon I went with my sister to get our nails done. Then Wednesday evening we had the rehearsal dinner. Thursday morning I had my hair done with my cousin, Kerry. We had to maintain our updos for hours. It was difficult (mine started to fall out right after the ceremony). Then, we finally went to get dressed, and to dress my sister. Then we had a wedding. I wrote about it here.

IMG_1733

We danced all night and I had an awesome time. I don’t think I’ve ever had that much fun dancing. Friday morning, Chris, Kerry, and I had an excursion to Xplore. Xplore is an adventure park about an hour outside of Cancun. While we were at Xplore we were able to Zipline, swim in underground rivers, go rafting in the rivers, and drive amphibious vehicles. It was an awesome day (more to come in a later post). It was also pretty chilly for Cancun on Friday. So, when we got back to the hotel I was pretty pooped. I was tired, cold, and hungry. I fell asleep at 10pm and woke up at 3am.

IMG_1752

Our last day in Cancun was spent packing, and relaxing at the beach. We left for the airport at 5pm and we were finished with security at 5:40pm. It was the fastest experience I’ve had in an airport. As we waited for the plane, I had the BEST quesadillas at this place called Guacamole. The flight home was easy-going. Especially compared to the flight there. We landed in New York 2.5 hours later, and were driven home by a car service. Overall, it was a pretty good trip. I’d definitely go back.

One thought on “My Week in Cancun

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | A Lovely Little Flower

Leave a Reply

