Preparing for Lent

Originally posted on Dignitatem

So let’s talk about Lent. It’s next week, and I feel like I haven’t had enough time to prepare. Lent has come so fast this year. Not really, but it feels like that. So, to start preparing, I ordered the Blessed Is She 2015 Lent Journal. I really like the BIS describes this journal so here you go:

This journal is written and designed for all of us. We are the Marys and Marthas. We love the lord, but we are women with many tasks—in our homes, in our work & in our world. We struggle to set our busy ways aside, even for the One we love.

Let his words remind us this Lent that there is need of only one thing.

To be like Mary sitting at his feet, listening to his word & waiting to be transformed by his love.

Speaking of Mary, my Marian Consecration also happens to fall during Lent this year (it did last year too). I’m supposed to start on February 20th so that I finish the retreat by March 25th (The Annunciation). I use 33 Days to Morning Glory by Fr. Michael E. Gaitley, MIC. I loved using it last year, and I’m really excited to use it again this year!

Even with all of this going on, I was still having trouble thinking of what I should do for Lent this year. Finally, during Catholic Underground I realized that I should really come up with a game plan. I have decided (and hopefully I won’t change my mind) that I’m going to say a rosary every day during Lent.  It’s going to correspond really well to my consecration preparation, and I really love the rosary. So that’s going to strengthen me, but what’s going to be my sacrifice? I really don’t have an addiction to anything, so giving up a particular food item wouldn’t really be a sacrifice. Also, my sisters wedding is the second day of Lent, so I wouldn’t really be able to give up sweets. I could but that would be too silly. So I thought, and I thought, and I thought. I hate getting up early. Actually I love it because I see how much good it is for me, but it’s also incredibly hard for me. So, once a week (probably Fridays, but this is subject to change) I’m going to get up at 6am and go to the 6:30 mass at my lovely parish. Wish me luck.

 This Lent is going to be pretty Marian for me. I’m pretty excited. What are your plans for Lent this year?

Dignitatem,wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

