New Year Themes and Goals

So, I was reading through some of my favorite blogs, and Jess Connolly posted about how she creates themes and goals for the new year. I really, really liked the idea of themes. Jess writes, “The question to ask yourself is – How would you like to describe 2015 when it’s over. Or even better – Lord, what would you like the themes of my year to be?” So, I’m asking myself that question.

IMG_1530

Rest
I’ve been thinking a lot about this theme since the semester ended. This semester kind of got away from me. That was partly because of my schedule, partly because I didn’t make time for it. So, I’m going to make sure I have time for rest. Whether that means taking time to sit in silence with the Blessed Sacrament or just watch tv, I’m going to make time for it.

Self Care
Between work, and school, and babysitting, and work at the Parish I don’t seem to be able to take care of myself in the way that I should. I read this post from Victoria Strader that I thought was really applicable. I really like how she writes about being healthy and strong so that she can serve in the best way that she can. She talks about serving as a mother and wife, and although I’m not at the point, I think that this is a really important lesson for any young woman.

Adventure
I want to go places, see things, and experience God’s beauty of creation. I’m going to Cancun for my sisters wedding in february, but I would really like to go to a few other places. Maine seems to be at the top of my list. Hopefully that’ll happen. But either way, making time for these kind of days, to see beauty in everything is a part of what I want 2015 to hold.

and of course, a few actual goals…

More Rosaries
It’s a simple goal. I’ve fallen out of practice. Decades may be the way to go here. It’s still part of the great devotion, but takes less patience and is still an important part of prayer. So, I think this is where I will start. I would like to say a decade at least three times a week. I think that this is a good place to start. We’ll see where it takes me.

Reading
Silly, I know. I’m an English major. I read all of the time. But I don’t read for pleasure. And considering that I have so many books from Christmas that I need to read, this is probably a good time to start. I’m going to make a goal on goodreads and actually stick to it. I think I’m in a good place to start this goal this semester.

So, here’s to 2015! It’s going to be a great year!

Leave a Reply

