Greenport, my little slice of paradise

IMG_1520

An hour and a half east of my home is one of the most beautiful, quaint, unique places in the world. Now, I know that I’ve mentioned how much I love the east end here, here, and here. But I really, really love it out there. Chris and I made the trip in hopes of finishing Christmas shopping. There are some great little shops out there.

Anyway, we left western suffolk county around noon after finally buying a Christmas tree. We stopped at a 7/11, where the picture above was taken. We hit up the ATM, bought some popcorn, and some gloves (also pictured above). Chris was quite excited about them. We listened to my spotify Christmas playlist. I’m quite proud of it. It has music by Nat King Cole, Sufjan Stevens, Matt Maher, Audrey Assad, Bing Crosby, and She and Him. It’s all of my favorite christmas songs in one playlist. Each time I drive along route 25, after passing Riverhead, I like to imagine what it would be like to live on the end of this island. Having the christmas music playing in the background made it that much more special.

We parked and walked over to a little shop on Main Street. It’s called The White Weathered Barn, and it’s filled with “a collection of fine art, photography, artisanal goods, vintage finds, and unique and repurposed gifts.” (white weathered barn)
I am now in love with this place. We bought presents for Chris’s grandparents, his parents, and my mom. I love being able to give someone a gift that was made and is unique.

We then went to Burton’s Bookstore, which is next door to The White Weathered Barn. Long story short, a friend from Hofstra bought this place. So Chris and I went to visit, and browse, and buy. It was nice to catch up and see the progress that this little place has made. I can’t wait to see what’s to come.

IMG_1519

Finally, after making a second stop into The White Weathered Barn, we had lunch. Lucharitos is my favorite place to eat. The vibe is so cool. The food is the best I’ve ever had. It is a really awesome eating experience. This was my third time eating here and it stood up to the standard I had made for it. I had beef and cheese empanadas, and Chris had two salmon tacos. We shared a side of rice and beans, and I tried Cholula for the first time. Life changing, let me tell you. And then we went home. The ride home is never as exciting as the ride there. Maybe it’s time to fix that. Any suggestions on how?

Until next time, Greenport…

2 thoughts on “Greenport, my little slice of paradise

  1. Pingback: The East End | a lovely little flower

  2. Pingback: The Most Long Island Day Ever (Part Two) |

Leave a Reply

