Doolin, Inis Oirr, and the Cliffs of Moher

I walked into Shannon Airport and I see two priests in black cassocks. I guess I’m not so far from home after all πŸ™‚ In other news, last night I had the best stew ever. Seriously, guinness + beef = one amazing stew.

IMG_0329
Today was our first full day here in Ireland. We are staying in Doolin and were able to spend the day onΒ one of the Arann Islands. We stayed on Inis Oirr and it was absolutely breathtaking. To be honest I thought that a full day on a tiny island was going to be a bit boring. But, truthfully, it wasn’t. We explored a shipwreck, saw a horse, explored a cemetery and the ruins of an underground early Christian Church (where the altar and tabernacle were still in tact) and climbed the ruins of another early Christian Church.

DSCN5547

Seeing this early Christian Church was really incredible. It made me have a new respect for my faith. Both the altar and tabernacle were still in tact.Β This church was built underground and had a secret room where the priest could hide if there were raids. Imagine living in a world like that? They risked their lives to celebrate the Mass. It was beautiful to see. I cannot wait for Mass on sunday.
I am so thankful to God for this trip.

IMG_7592

Then we walked back to the ferry, had a bite to eat, and saw the Cliffs of Moher from the ferry ride.

DSCN5572

Luckily, today isn’t over yet. We still have 3+ hours of sunlight.
Love and prayers,
Mary

Leave a Reply

